Burning Permits

Annual burning permits are available from the following:

Please burn AFTER 6:00pm. When burning a large brush pile, notify the Columbia County Sheriff's office by calling

Burning Restrictions - DNR
Note: Daily burn restrictions are not updated until after 11 a.m.

Placement of Emergency Response Numbers

Columbia County ordinance Title 28 states all Emergency Response Number Signs are to be placed approximately five (5) feet to the right (facing the home) of the driveway right-of-way at the edge of the road right-of-way.

The Town of West Point places each Emergency Response Number Signs for each town resident in the correct location.

It is very important NOT to move the Emergency Response Number Sign as emergency (fire and ambulance) look for the signs to be in the correct location.


Plan Commission 
Byron Olson
Darrell Lehman
Ron Grasshoff
Kevin Kessler – Chairman
Nathan Sawyer
Renee Nair
Gordon Carncross (Town Board Member)
 Broadband Committee
Gordon Carncross (2nd Supervisor)
Ashley Nedeau-Owen
Darrell Lehman
Byron Olson
Howard Hartmann
Jason Dahlby
Michelle Wiedenfeld
Highway & Safety 
Ken Brockman
Ashley Nedeau-Owen (Town Chairman)
Waste & Recycling 
Matt Zeman (4th Supervisor)
West Point Area Historical Commission 
Kristine Lehman (Chair) 592-3657
Mary Ann Johnson (Secretary)
Sharon Richmond
Terri Hancock
Chris Ryan
Emily Carncross
MaryAnn Hartmann
West Point Area Historical Society Officers 
Mary Ann Johnson (President) 608-628-4350
Sharon Richmond (Secretary)
Emily Carncross (Vice President)
Terri Hancock (Treasurer)
Scott Ness
Matthew Zeman (4th Supervisor)
Ken Ryan

Open Space Committee
Dean Schwarz
Dierk Van Cleef
Sheila Landsverk
Ron Grasshoff (Chair)

Renee Nair (2nd Supervisor)


Emergency Government
Ashley Nedeau-Owen (Town Chairman)
Tom Fisher (Chairman Emergency)
Gene Edwards (Chairman Hazards)